Basic Liability Car Insurance in Michigan
The basic Car Insurance Requirements in Michigan are as follows:
Liability Insurance is a minimum requirement and a low cost car insurance option as long as the vehicle is not financed.
The liability Minimums are 20/40/10 (Bodily Injury and Property Damage)
The first 20 represents $20,000, the maximum coverage for one person’s injuries, $40,000 for the total coverage for all injuries sustained in one incident and last but not least $10,000 for the property damage maximum coverage amount.
Michigan Car Insurance Laws:
Insurance proof is a requirement at registration and of course after an accident. The First Offense penalty is $200-$500 fine or maximum 1 Year In Jail.
Insurance and Driving information for Detroit, Lansing and Surrounding Michigan Areas
Did you know within Lansing, Detroid and areas surrounding the state of Michigan, drivers must receive 12 points within a two year period before having their license suspended. Michigan also only will post 4 points onto the record a driver convicted of drag racing. Even though the law seems lenient, this can still put quite an increase on your Michigan Insurance rate. Hopefully the court fees and insurance rate spikes will be enough for drivers to maintain reasonable speeds. Stay safe out there.
It’s our goal to continue helping shoppers find low rates for Detroit and Lansing car insurance not to leave out low cost auto insurance coverage for those living in surrounding areas of Michigan.
Michigan Insurance Agents:
If your a Local Agent and run an Independent Insurance Agent within Detroit, Lansing or any of the surrounding communities we would like to get to hear about the services you offer. Introduce your Company to us by contacting us.
e: ( admin |at| low-insurance.org )